Google Classroom End of Year Work Flow 2019

Google Classroom End of Year Work Flow 2019

The end of the school year is upon us and for those of you who use Google Classroom, it is time to learn how to archive your GC classes!  You might think you should delete your classes from the 2018-2019 school year. If you delete a class you can’t access them again. So don’t DELETE, ARCHIVE!

Why archive?

  • It cleans up your Google Classroom interface and prepares for the next year.
  • Both teachers and students will have access to documents that have been archived
    • In Google Drive
    • In Google Classroom
  • Archiving a class makes it available to reuse next year.
    • If you need help using the “reuse post” option let me know! (I plan to add a “reuse post” tutorial for the beginning of next year over the summer)

The first thing to do when preparing to archive a Google Classroom class is to return existing documents to students.

  • If you return the documents to the students, they will be the owners of those documents and can edit them.
  • If you do not return the documents to the students, they will be able to view them but NOT edit them.

So, before archiving be sure you return any documents you want the students to be the owners of to them.

Follow these steps to archive your 2018-2019 Google Classroom classes:

  1. Click on the three little dots in the class you want to archive
  2. Click archive
    • Your will be asked “do you really want to archive”
    • Click “yes I do”
  3. The class will disappear both for you and for your students
  4. To view the classes that are archived:
    • Click the GC Main Menu bar at the top left of the screen
    • In the Main Menu, Click “Archived Classes”
      • All your archive classes will be listed

Here's a link to a video that walks you through the archiving process.

Finally, a few extra tidbits of information:

  • Students have the option to un-enroll from a class
    • If they do this they will no longer have access to the posts in the class
    • They will still retain access to the documents (located in their Google Drive, Classroom folder)
  • It is imperative that you DO NOT rename or delete your classroom folder in Google Drive. If you rename or delete this folder, the connection between Google Classroom and Google Drive will be lost.

If you have any questions about Google Classroom or anything else, please feel free to reach out to me! Over the summer I will be working some here and there. Send me an email and be patient, I will answer as soon as I can!